Despite being called the garden state of America, New Jersey is nowhere near accepting public marijuana consumption. While there is a medical program in place in New Jersey. Marijuana Consumption for recreation is strictly prohibited. The law treats marijuana like any other illegal drug in the state. The possession, distribution, and cultivation for any other reason than medicine is a crime. In addition, there are even harsh penalties on growing or distributing hashish and other cannabis concentrates.
The new year brings in a lot of policy changes across the states. Many states revised their state on marijuana recently. Moreover, several new laws are now in place to prove cannabis regulation. There are states working on decriminalizing marijuana. This means that with recent law changes people in illegal possession of marijuana will face lower penalties as well as no criminal charges.
Coming back to the Jersey laws the state has a pretty comprehensive definition of marijuana laws. However, the legal language of official statements can sometimes confuse average individuals. Fear not because we have an accurate summary of marijuana laws in New Jersey.
In New Jersey, it is a disorderly person’s offense to possess up to 50 grams of marijuana. The maximum penalty that a person might get for such an offense is up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. The possession of more than 50 grams is a crime in the 4th degree. It has some serious consequences including a maximum punishment of 1.5 years in prison and a fine of $25,000. The people who are allowed to use cannabis medically also need to adhere to set rules. Moreover, Possession within 1,000 feet of a school has even higher fines and community service requirements.
The state laws of New Jersey declare marijuana sale and distribution a crime. The punishment for the charge depends on the amount of marijuana in their possession. If the weight is less than one ounce, the offense is a 4th-degree crime punishable by up to 1.5 years in prison and $25,000 in fines. However, if it’s more than an ounce but less than five pounds there is mandatory punishment of imprisonment of three years as well as $25,000 in fines.
In addition, the distribution of marijuana between five to twenty-five pounds has a punishment of five years in jail minimum with a maximum of ten years, and as much as $150,000 in fines. The penalties increase further will increase in quantity from twenty-five pounds from 10 to 20 years in prison as well as $300,000 fine. Once again the law has worse punishments on sale near schools with up to a $150,000 fine and three to five years in prison.
Marijuana cultivation is an important factor to discuss while legalizing cannabis. In New Jersey, however, it is a crime to grow any amount of marijuana. Cultivation of fewer than 10 plants is punishable by at least three years in prison. With more severe charges leading to five, and up to $25,000 in fines.
In addition, cultivating between 10 and 49 plants has a minimum penalty of five years in prison, a maximum of 10 years, and a top fine of $150,000. Moving on Cultivation of 50 or more plants comes with a minimum sentence of 10 years in prison, a maximum of 20 years, and a fine of up to $300,000.
Hash and Cannabis Concentrates:
Cannabis concentrates have higher amounts of THC, the psychoactive compound, in them. Consequently, special restrictions apply to them, these restrictions apply on hashish, hash oil, and all other marijuana concentrates. A small offense like possession of fewer than 5 grams is a disorderly person offense subject to as much as six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. However, with more than five grams on you, you’re looking at $25,000 and a prison term of up to 18 months.
In terms of concentrate distribution. Making, distributing, or selling less than five grams of concentrate is a fourth-degree crime, this includes possession with intent to distribute. The maximum penalty for that is 18 months in prison and $10,000 in fines. For an amount varying between five grams and one pound, the penalty is between three and five years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. In addition, Manufacture, distribution, sale, and possession with intent is a third-degree crime. Once again the exact punishment varies with the amount of cannabis product on you.
For second-degree manufacture, distribution, sale, or possession with intent, the punishment is a minimum of five years and a maximum of 10 years in prison, and up to $150,000 in fines given the quantity between one to five pounds. For more than five pounds the offense is a first-degree crime and the top punishment is between 10 and 20 years in prison and $200,000 in fines.
Medical Cannabis Program:
Although there is no recreational cannabis law in New Jersey, it does support marijuana as a medicine. the state law allows for the use, possession, and cultivation of marijuana for medical purposes. According to the official statement patients with debilitating health conditions, physicians, primary caregivers are protected from “arrest, prosecution, property forfeiture, and criminal and other penalties.”
For someone to qualify for medical marijuana treatment in New Jersey, they must have one of the following qualifying conditions.
Addiction substitute therapy for opioid reduction
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Chronic visceral pain
HIV/AIDS (includes associated chronic pain and/or severe nausea)
Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Seizure and/or spasticity disorders
Or Any terminal illness if a doctor knows the patient will die within a year. There are, however, limits on the quantity of marijuana for medical users. they can not have more than two ounces per month. In addition, medical cannabis users also cannot grow their own cannabis at home. The cannabis they consume must be bought from State-licensed dispensaries. there are only twelve operating State-licensed dispensaries in new jersey right now however they might increase in the future. The patients also can’t give away their legal marijuana.
Marijuana Possession for Caregivers:
Primary caregivers can carry marijuana in New Jersey. You must be a person who assists a registered patient with their medical use of marijuana to qualify for it. The caregiver should be a resident of New Jersey and can’t be the person’s doctor. All caregivers must be at least 18 years of age. By the state law.